Time for a challenge …..

20130817-223838.jpg There comes a time in your life when you must accept you are not getting any younger. Normally at the same time you realise that there are still a million things to be done! When you are young you have all the time in the world. The sun is always shining and there is no rush for anything. There is always tomorrow ….

Then you realise that there are only so many tomorrows left and, of course, you have no idea how big or small that number actually is!!

“Tired of lying in the sunshine staying home to watch the rain
You are young and life is long and there is time to kill today
And then one day you find ten years have got behind you
No one told you when to run, you missed the starting gun”
Time – Pink Floyd

I have come to that time in my life. Although I think of myself as twenty+ years younger than I am, there are many things to remind me that I am not! When once I didn’t suffer from hangovers now it takes me a good week to get over a serious night out; plus I have my daughter reminding me every half hour that it is my own fault.

Over the past few years, as this blog will verify, I have started to do some of those things that have been on my list for ever. I have driven to Nordkapp and Morocco. I have travelled the highlands and islands of Scotland. Although I plan to go back to these places plus many others, I can at least look back and say “I did that!”.

Now I am beginning to think of my physical self. I am certainly older that I would like to be – aren’t we all – but of course there isn’t a great deal I can do about that. A time machine could be useful but I am no inventor or physicist. I am also heavier than I would like to be and less fit; these are things that can be rectified. They are within my power to change, to make a difference.

And so changes are a foot. Gym membership has been gained and exercise is becoming part of my life. Who would have thought it! I have spent my entire life avoiding any kind of sport and now I find myself with a season ticket to the greatest rugby union team in the country, London Wasps just in case there was any doubt, and a gym membership. I have also heard myself saying at the end of a particularly hard session – I enjoyed that! What, this cannot be right! How can anybody, let alone me, admit to liking exercise?

Well that is where I find myself. Although I still have a long way to go before I can say I have met these particular objectives, and to be honest I am not entirely sure I have set them yet, I am on my way.

So next I am thinking I need to set myself a challenge. Some form of sponsored activity which will benefit both me and those less fortunate would seem appropriate. But what? A challenge is good but needs to be achievable. And so I am thinking some form of walk would fit the bill. So what should I do? Climb Mount Everest, walk to Sainsbury’s?

Watch this space ………

Leave a Reply

