Sometimes While Flying ……

I am currently sitting upstairs in business class on the Airbus A380 heading from Sydney to Dubai; first leg of the long journey home. We are travelling at 38,000 feet and have approximately 7 hours to our destination. Which I think puts us at about half way.

2014-02-20 06.15.35One of the innovations on these new planes is that you can use your mobile phone as well as connect to the internet. Well the internet is in theory; it didn’t work for. But the use of the phone I can vouch for as the gentlemen behind me has insisted on talking very loudly into his phone for the last half hour! I have always thought that one of the benefits to plane travel is that you can sit in your own little bubble and escape for a few hours. The added advantage of business is that you have space to do those things that you enjoy, to allow you to while away some of the time. What you don’t need is to be forced to listen in on somebody else’s very important conversation.

Writing is a favourite pastime of mine and the ability to sit here are write down my thoughts while travelling at great speed over the oceans below, is a real pleasure. At the moment while I write, I have started listening to Led Zeppelin IV which is not an album I know; so another bonus. Added to which if I don’t enjoy it I can switch to Dark Side of the Moon, in my opinion the greatest collection of songs ever recorded. Please tell me you know who it is by!

One of the things I have become aware of while flying is that I often wonder away into my own world; just letting my thoughts drift off to where ever they want to go. This can lead to some very random ideas but it allows me to relax and perhaps clear some of the junk from an overly populated brain.

Out of the window at the moment there are little white clouds floating in a very blue sky. I am of course looking down on them….

Sydney has been a very enjoyable trip. Probably my best business trip in years, I certainly enjoyed my weekend off wondering the city and travelling out to Manly beach on the ferry. Over the next few weeks, before I return, I need to jot down all of the places I want to see, the things I want to do. I need to work on the basis that it will be my last trip to Australia and therefore I have to make the most of it.

“There’s a lady who’s sure, All that glitters is gold, And she’s buying a stairway to heaven.”

2014-02-20 13.15.18

There are the obvious places such as Bondi Beach and the Blue Mountains. But what else; what other joys await a traveller? Some research on the internet is very much in order I think. I will of course be working and there will be other people from the UK with me, but I am determined to make the most of it. Also, all being well, Lauren will be able to join me for a few weeks.

Well I think that will do for now. Maybe a little more later in the trip as there is still about 14 hours to go!

Leave a Reply

