Flying, an update

Micro2A few lessons in I thought it about time for a quick post with an update on my progress. As such it kind of goes without saying that I am still flying.

During the initial trial flight I was seated at the back with the pilot in the front. I also sat holding on to what ever I could find; which as you will have guessed from the pictures is not a lot. A few times I felt a little uncomfortable as the wind caught the wing or we flew through turbulence. These feelings were sufficient to make me wonder if this was really something that I wanted to do.

During my subsequent flights I have been in the front and for the most part in control – except of course for all the important bits, take-off, landings and the like. In the front and with my hands on the control bar I have felt considerably more comfortable. Although I still get the occasional anxious moments.

Slowly I am getting to understand the plane but also the time it is going to take to really master it and be in a position to be up in the sky completely on my own. Basic maneuvers are being learnt and practiced and over the coming weeks joined together.

Each lesson is an hour in the air with briefings before and after the flight. That is with the exception of the Trial which was 40 minutes. Flights so far:

  • Micro1Friday 11th July  –  Trial flight
  • Sunday 20th July
  • Saturday 26th July
  • Wednesday 30th July
  • Tuesday 5th August

Minimum flying time for a license – 25 hours.

A way to go yet …….

Leave a Reply

