Australia, Trip 3 – Part 1

Tuesday 16th September

I am currently sitting in the Handmade Burger Co. restaurant in Manchester. Having ordered my food, my thoughts have turned to my next big adventure. I am here again tomorrow, Manchester that is as opposed to the restaurant, and then heading south, pickup some cloths, sort out a few final chores and then to the airport.

For the third time this year I am heading round the world to Sydney, Australia. A shorter trip than last time, only four weeks, but that just means I need to make sure that I make the most of the opportunity.

Other than re-equating myself with the city and visiting the Sydney museum which I ran out of time to do previously, I think my main adventure this time will be a little further a field; but where?

There are two clear candidates in my mind; Fraser Island or Hobart, Tasmania.

Fraser Island, a few hours drive north of Brisbane is the largest sand island in the world. Just one of the many records this magnificent continent holds. There is a highway on the beach, just pure sand beneath your tyres, fresh water lakes and rain forests all making up this remarkable and unique environment. But with so much to experience is there time?

A trip to Tasmania on the other hand will take in Hobart the capital city as well as Port Arthur another of the world heritage convict sites which I would like to visit in order to increase my knowledge of Australian history and the part Britain played in shaping it.

I have seen both these sites on various television programs this year and also undertaken a little reading to understand better what there is to see and experience. Now I simply need to make up my mind and book the flights!

Leave a comment