2014 done. Bring on 2015 …

2015So that was 2014, and what a year it was!

Like many people who write blogs or diaries, I tend to do a post at this time of year as a retrospective and also to set out a few plans that I may have in place. As a starting point I like to read my blog from this time last year to see how I have done. Well it is safe to say that most, if not all, my plans for 2014 didn’t happen. I had hoped to go back to Norway – not done. I wanted to travel up through the high passes in the Alps – nope, not done. I wanted to continue with the personal challenges I had stated during 2013 – failed! There was the possibility of a trip to Australia – and what a trip it turned out to be!!

Back in February it was finally confirmed that the trip to Australia was going to happen. Within a week the trip was confirmed, visa approved, flights booked and I was on my way to Sydney. Initially for two weeks, but at the end of March I was on my way down under again and this time it was for seven weeks. The longer trip allowed me to really explore Sydney and the surrounding areas. The timing also meant that Lauren could join me for just under four weeks which was a real bonus.

Back in the UK there were a few trips out with Lauren and I also finally started to learn to fly a microlight. Something I had been thinking about for a long time. The year ended with another couple of months in Sydney. During these last two trips I also got the chance to visit both Canberra and Tasmania. From never having been to Australia I have now spent over four months there.

A significant disappointment during the year was the announcement that my team, London Wasps, were to move 80 miles north to the Ricoh Arena in Coventry. The deal makes very sound business sense but as a supporter I felt, and continue to feel, that the way the existing fan base were treated was unforgivable. One or two statements from a particular player, who so it happens was born in Coventry, only compounded these feelings. I have been to the new ground once and will give it another go, but many of the promises appear simply to have been untrue – better parking, better access to and from on match day, better facilities. The atmosphere just was not the same as far as I was concerned, it didn’t feel like our home ground, and so my regular attendance at home matches may now be over.

2014 was certainly a very busy year and incredibly rewarding, but what will 2015 bring? At the moment I have no idea. If I am in the northern hemisphere then I intend to take some of the trips which I had to skip this year. Plus I will be doing some more flying. Paramotoring has caught my eye so I will be looking to give that a go. However if I am back down under then who knows? Watch this space ……

Finally I would like to thank all those who read my posts and especially the 74 people out there that follow my blog. I hope that you stick with me through the coming months and enjoy the ride.

Very Happy New Year, I hope 2015 is everything you want it to be.

Sydney Fireworks

Leave a Reply

