A New Year, A New Life ….

I have been back in Sydney for nearly 2 weeks and only now feel able to write my first post of 2015. What made be knuckle down? Simple, a walk round Sydney was all that was needed to remind me why I had made the decisions I had …..

Earlier in the year I was approached to see if I would like to move to Australia on a permanent basis. With my marriage over and house already up for sale due to the divorce, it felt like I only had one reason to say no and that was Lauren. We had many long conversations about the the pros and cons of such a move. I had many sleepless nights as I thought about the enormity of what I was considering, but in the end it was just too good an opportunity to miss. Never before had I received such an offer, and at my age it is unlikely that I would get such an offer again. After a number of discussions with my old employer about a leaving date, in theory I needed to give three months notice, and receipt of formal jobs offers and contracts of employment from my new employer, the decision was made and the wheels of my new life started to roll.

On Friday 27th February 2015 I left Causeway with just a week and a half’s notice after being employed by them for over 16 years. On the following Monday I started in Woking for my new employer Mouchel. An agreement was put in place that I would be employed by the UK business while my visa application was processed and then switch to the Australian company as soon as I was able to move to Sydney. During that interim two months I continued to spend time in Manchester working with the team there, with whom I had a brilliant night out aft my last day working with them.

Tuesday 5th May saw my arrival in Sydney on a one way ticket.

Mouchel engage a relocation manager to help new arrivals find both temporary and permanent accommodation as well as anything else you need when setting up home in a new country. Without doubt I felt much more relaxed about the process than many would having already spent four months here last year and therefore knowing my way around; a little. Melissa collected me from the airport, which was brilliant, and made sure I was settled in my apartment in St. Leonards. After a sleep I headed to the office in North Ryde to meet the new team and then down to Lane Cove to say “hi” to everyone I had met last year – and what a seriously brilliant welcome I got at Lane Cove! It certainly felt good to be back amongst friends.

It turned out that many of the team in North Ryde, the new Mouchel Design Centre for Australia, had only been there a short time before me. In fact they had only moved into the office the Friday before I arrived and so it was decided that a night out was in order for people to get to know one another. On my first Thursday back in the county we headed to the Glenmore Hotel in The Rocks district of Sydney for a few drinks and something to eat. I had been to the Glenmore before and would highly recommend it if only for the amazing views over the harbour and Opera House from the roof terrace.

Saturday was to be spent house hunting! Well more specifically apartment hunting. Melissa picked me up at 09:30 and we were off on a whistle stop tour of Lane Cove, Chatswood and the surrounding communities. Rightly or wrongly I had decided that I didn’t want to be too far from the office or, if possible a train station. This meant that my already tight budget was going to be stretched to its limit. They have a very strange system in Australia for rental accommodation, and possibly purchases as well. You don’t make an appointment to view, the agent simply advertises when he will be at a property and all are welcome to view. The “open house” time slots are often as little as 10 or 15 minutes!! 10 minutes in which to view and make up your mind on somewhere you could be living for the next year or more. At one apartment there must have been 30 people queuing up and making their way through a two bedroom property!

Having viewed about 10 places they were beginning to merge one into another, but what was clear to me was that the majority where simply not suitable. The last however would suit me just fine. Although a little older than I perhaps would have liked, the layout was perfect, the street lovely and the whole place had been recently decorated through out.

Now for the next stage of the property searching process…

Having thought about it on Sunday, and also looked on line at a number of other properties and locations, I decided that Stokes Street would do me just fine. My application was put together on Monday, various documents copied and sent through to the letting agents on Tuesday and lots of telephone calls by Melissa to see what was going on. It seemed there were three of us interested and it was up to the landlord to decide who they liked best. Finally midday Wednesday I go the news that the property was mine! By all accounts I was incredibly lucky to get the first place I chose as most people it seems have to go through this process a number of times before they are accepted. The property market in Sydney is certainly very fast moving at the moment.

All the papers were signed last Friday and I move in next Friday! On Thursday night I went out for dinner and a few drinks with some of the guys from the Lane Cove office as a welcome back celebration. We went to the Longueville Hotel in Lane Cove which was not only where we went for lunch on the last day before I left at Christmas, but will soon be my local! Another great night; I am looking forward to many more!

Having signed all the paperwork I now need to concentrate on getting furniture and everything else that is needed to make a property a home. Friday evening I went to IKEA and made a list of those items I needed first off. Back at my apartment the list was extended to cover all those items you can’t buy at IKEA – not too many additions to be honest – and then finally a few decisions about the logistics of it all. Saturday I went into Chatswood to check out a few more bits and also picked up my first purchases; kettle, toaster and iron.

2015-05-16 17.23.20

 

After shopping I decided I needed a break and so header to Sydney proper for the first time this visit. My first couple of weeks had been busy doing many of the routine things of life with little time to relax or enjoy my new surroundings. But finally I was in the city wandering through the streets, the botanical gardens and round the Opera House and Circular Quay.

Now I remembered exactly why I had mad the crazy decision to move half way round the world and start a whole new life.

One thought on “A New Year, A New Life ….

  1. Nice. I envy you the buzz of a fresh start. I enjoy your blog too. I guess I should really write something in mine. Unfortunately the whole reason for my blog has been sold now (typical) but I’ll keep the name anyway.

Leave a Reply

